05 February 2010

so i just watched funny people, and besides having bunches of funny people in it, it wasn't that funny. but you know what? i realized that cussing is kind of stupid, and fun.

see, i like never cuss. maybe like once every ten years. and little ones, too. never the bombs. but that movie had like a bajillion cuss words in it and it kind of scared me. but just because i don't cuss, i don't think cussing is altogether bad. i mean that movie would not have been as funny if every other word weren't an obscenity. and conor oberst really couldn't write such meaningful and depressing lyrics if he didn't have some kind of "anger." but i still think i like my cuss free life.

i can remember in high school when everyone thought it was funny or cute or weird or something that i didn't cuss. i mean, really. there has to be plenty of people who don't cuss. most people tend to attribute it to my christianity, but i know christians who cuss, and they're okay people. and plus, i didn't cuss before i was a christian, either. so strike one. maybe it was because of my parents, they say. HECK NO! i think, if anything, they would teach me to cuss. they love it.

so what then is it? i have no clue. for some reason i've always thought of cussing as someting to do when you're angry, and i am hardly ever angry. but now i know people cuss all the time. but that just doesn't feel right. cussing just doesn't feel right.

maybe i am just a freak.